Spending time this morning reading about mortification by Puritan John Owen.  Asking myself as I do often, do I hate what is evil and cling to what is good.  More often, I am like Lot’s wife, looking back; experiencing a heart that clings to the very things that fueled the wrath that God poured out on His son in my place.  Why do I look at the cross with such disregard?….because I lack the faith that He is enough and can totally satisfy by desires beyond all comprehension.  O Father, fill my cavernous thirst with living water.  Allow me to share some thought from Owen that I found helpful…

“Charge your conscience with the guilt that appears in it from the rectitude and holiness of the law.  Bring the holy law of God into your conscience, lay your corruption to it, pray that you may be affected with it.  Consider the holiness, spirituality, fiery severity, inwardness, absoluteness of the law, and see how you can stand before it…If ever you will mortify your corruption, you must tie up you conscience, shut it from all shifts and exceptions, until it owns its guilt with a clear and thorough apprehension; so that then, as David speaks, your ‘iniquity may ever be before you” [Psalm 51:3]

Then, bring your sin to the gospel–not for relief, but for further conviction of its guilt; look on him you have pierced [Zech: 12:10; John 19:37], and be in bitterness. He then commends us to entertain our conscience daily with this treaty.

Then…

“Consider the infinite patience and forbearance of God toward you in particular.”

I commend this video…

Remaining desperate…

