Today our youngest son, Drew, turned 21.  As I thought about this special day, I was reminded of God’s kindness in Drew’s life the love I have for him. Some of my thoughts are as follows….

  • Drew has been saved from his sin, is an adopted child of God and will live an eternity enjoying the glory of God…
  • Drew knows what he has been saved from…
  • Drew is actively fighting sin…desiring to abhor what is evil and cling to what is good
  • Drew knows his salvation was paid for through the horrific death of Christ on the cross…
  • Drew witnessed the mercy of God first-hand in the redemptive restoration of his family…
  • Drew loves his church…
  • Drew demonstrates his love for his family…
  • Drew loves to laugh and make others laugh…
  • Drew is a good friend…
  • Drew is a good listener…
  • Drew has been gifted by God as a leader…
  • Drew desires to be married one day and is trusting God’s guidance…

As I listed my thoughts, it became more and more evident that God’s gentle and loving hand is on Drew’s life.  As his father, I have one desire for him; that he would find complete and lasting satisfaction in Christ.  That all lesser pleasures would pale in comparison to Christ and him crucified.

Drew…If you read this, please know it was written from the heart of a man whose sin has caused you pain but is trusting in and pointing you to the One who will never leave you or forsake you…I love you…Dad

Remaining desperate…

