I spent the morning with my step-father last week; it will be a morning I will hopefully never forget.  As we sat and talked and we served and cared for one another, I thought of these verses in Matthew 7

9 Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11 If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!

My step-father came into my life, or should I say into my mother’s and my life, when I was three.  As I was sitting there with him, God was kind to help me see the correlation between my step-father, who is sinful and dependent on God’s grace, and God the Father.  If my step-father, who loved and cared for me, never giving me the proverbial stone, how much more will God give me if I ask?  If my step-father, who took the day off last week to spend time with me, how much more does the One who crushed his Son with my sin desire to be with me.

Lord, I thank you for placing my step-dad in my life.  It is without a doubt a direct reflection of your grace and mercy in my life; grace and mercy that was and is only possible because of what transpired on the cross.  The great exchange that occurred, Christ taking what I deserved and me receiving what Christ deserved, is truly amazing grace.  Thank you for last week and thank you the gift of the man you sent my way at three.  Grant him many more years to enjoy his grandchildren as they honor him with their love; a love born out of your Sovereign grace.   And Father, grant me the faith to believe what Matthew 7: 9-11 says about you and may my time with you reflect that belief.  May my desires from you be that of becoming transformed into the image of your Son…at whatever the cost.

In the name of Jesus I pray…Amen

Remaining desperate…

