Have you ever had a day where a song was in your mind and you could not get it out?  Well, I had had one of those day with the song, There Is a Balm In Gilead.  When I came home today I knew I wanted to look the song up on the computer to read the words.  They are as follows:

There Is a Balm in Gilead
By: African American Spiritual

Sometimes I feel discouraged and think my work’s in vain,
But then the Holy Spirit revives my soul again.
There is a balm in Gilead to make the wounded whole;
There is a balm in Gilead to heal the sin sick soul.

If you cannot preach like Peter, if you cannot pray like Paul,
You can tell the love of Jesus and say, “He died for all.”
There is a balm in Gilead to make the wounded whole;
There is a balm in Gilead to heal the sin sick soul.

Don’t ever feel discouraged, for Jesus is your friend;
And if you lack for knowledge, He’ll never refuse to lend.
There is a balm in Gilead to make the wounded whole;
There is a balm in Gilead to heal the sin sick soul.

My favorite line in the song is, “There is a balm in Gilead to heal the sin sick soul.”  I am so aware on a daily basis that God is the only refuge that I can find healing, the healing that was paid for by our Savior’s death on the cross.  I desperately need a constant reminder that God gave Christ what I deserved so I could have what Christ deserved.  Amazing grace!!  Enjoy this video of the song:

One final bit of encouragement that I came across today from The Conception of Indwelling Sin, written by the Puritan, John Owen:

God shows the advantages of seeking what is good, honest, comely, praiseworthy, and acceptable to Himself. This is the grand highway for the saints of God to travel when facing temptations and conceptions of sin. The Christian is reminded of the eternal love of God and of its fruits. He is reminded of the cross of Christ, His sufferings, the costliness of His mediation, and the concern of His heart. He is reminded of the love and consolations of the Holy Spirit of which all believers partake. The Christian is also reminded of the beauty and glory of the gospel, of the excellence and comliness of obedience, of the wounding afresh of the Lord Jesus Christ and the putting Him to shame, and of their grieving of the Holy Spirit and defiling His dwelling place in their hearts. God often reminds His people of the benefits of fleeing from sin.

Remaining desperate…

