One of the many privileges I experience each day in my work as a junior high principal, is to read to the students each morning while they wait to be dismissed to first period. I usually start reading about 7:15 and read until 7:40. I am presently reading book two of the Chronicles of Narnia, Prince Caspian. This morning we finished chapter 10, The Return of the Lion, and began chapter 11, The Lion Roars. I was particularly moved with a portion that depicted the relationship between Lucy and Aslan. The following is taken from chapter ten.

Lucy buried her head in his mane to hide from his face. But there must have been magic in his mane. She could feel lion-strength going into her. Quite suddenly she sat up. “I’m sorry, Aslan,” she said. ‘I’m ready now.” “Now you are a lioness,” said Aslan. “And now all Narnia will be renewed. But come. We have no time to lose.”…

And so at last they got on the move. Lucy went first, biting her lip and trying not to say all the things she thought of saying to Susan. But she forgot them when she fixed her eyes on Aslan.

It moved me so to see how Lucy trusted Aslan, even when she was scared of what he was asking of her. As she trusted and followed him, he became her sole focus. What a picture this is of our relationship with Christ. As we walk in faith, we come to know him more intimately. This intimacy leads us into a relationship with Him where He becomes our treasure and we fix our eyes upon Him.

Remaining desperate-

I look forward to the movie this summer…

Enjoy the trailer…

